Lion, the film (spoliers)

So yesterday i saw lion in the cinemas (i believe it came out in the UK this Friday). I felt so inspired from it and just utterly grateful for my life, family but also my childhood. I have had such a blessed childhood and i didn’t have everything i wanted but i had everything i needed, a family, a free education, toys, a roof over my head and food and water on demand.

This film is a true story and it really left me thinking of how lucky most of us are even when we don’t feel it or see it. But we truly are!

The film is about a little boy who was born in India in pretty much the slums and was being raised by his mother, he had an older brother and a younger sister and they collected rocks to earn money and provide food for themselves. The little boy one night went to work with his older brother and he ended up getting lost for a  few months around india and then adopted by a lovely Australian couple and had a good life before finding where he was from and returning.

At the end of the movie was some facts and it really put into prospective how often this happens, in one year around 80,000 children from india go missing! That is just so crazy to hear and something that is so unheard from around here. My heart really broke for them and i couldn’t imagine how scary it must be knowing you are lost and will most likely never see your family again, let alone being 5 years old.

I am not going to go to much into the story(already completely spoiled it) but i really recommend going to see the film or if not read this ‘https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Saroo_Brierley’  link and it will have a lot more information regarding this on there.

I hope one day i can do something just to help this situation in the smallest way possible even if so but it still makes me feel so fortunate and so bad for ever crying about a toy i didn’t get when i was younger that i would of played with for a day.

This also makes me realise how much is going on in the world that we are so unaware of, i am going to try and make sure i open my eyes more at my surroundings and also use all of my oppotunties available to myself, we all should!

 

Leave a Reply

